The Plan: “Threshold”

I recently picked up a book at the library: Teach Like a Champion by Doug Lemov.  I can’t put it down.  I also love that there are video clips of the techniques in action.  Despite the fact that this book is aimed at K-12 teachers, there are MANY techniques from this book that I would like to implement in the coming semester with my college students.  For now, I will focus on one–“Threshold”.  In this technique, you affirm the expectations in your classroom simply by the way you greet your students at the beginning of class–at the door, to each student, by name.  I plan to try this out on the first day of a workshop course I will be teaching this summer.  This course is for students who will be entering their first year of college this fall.  My plan is to be in the classroom before anyone arrives, stand at the door ready and waiting until students arrive, and make eye contact with each student as I ask them “What is your name? What is one thing you are hoping to get out of this workshop?” (I’m still not sure what or if there will be a second question)  I plan to greet my students at the door each day of the workshop.  Stay tuned…

What about you?  Have you read Teach Like a Champion?  Have you tried any such techniques with college students?  Please share your thoughts and experiences in the comments.

Leave a Reply

