Scholarship Accountability Update–Everything is going my way

Can I just say that time flies?!  I am happy to report I’ve been a busy little bee and all things seem to be on the upswing for the moment.  I  worked through as much tissue as I could before my research student arrived (on Monday!) which actually wasn’t much because I was focused on completing the draft of my first scholarly publication as an independent investigator (it only took 4 years).  I finished the draft by my self imposed deadline of May 30 so I consider that triumph #1.  My student and I have been working through the low hanging fruit this week (tissue that was already sectioned) and will be taking pictures of stained tissue tomorrow.  Fingers crossed there is some obvious phenomenon waiting for us.  

Recently I reread an email from one of my mentors containing advice about managing a lab with undergraduate researchers.  One of the things he said was that he always has a project in the lab that he does by himself so that he can ensure that at least one thing will work/be publishable.  For whatever reason that spoke clearly to me this time (obviously it didn’t 2 years ago when he wrote the email to me) so I decided I would start this summer with my own research project.  Just like for my student, I mapped out what I needed to accomplish and broke it down into smaller tasks.  I am happy to report that I have figuratively cast a net for findings on my summer research project and now I wait (the procedure I am doing for my research project requires 2 weeks of incubation time before you see results).  I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly I got the ball rolling on that one.  Triumph #2.  While I was on a roll I also planned out my research project for the fall, so my next task is to make a plan for that one and break it down into smaller tasks.  There are a few things I need to do for that one this summer to be primed for fall, that is the plan for next week.

We’re at the end of 4 weeks of self-imposed productivity and I have to wonder what took me so long.  This has been a great experience so far and I can’t wait to see what all I will have to show for it at the end of the summer.  This is the first summer where I don’t feel the ominous clock ticking while the days of summer slip through my fingers.  

Stay tuned next accountability post for updates on 

  • my research student’s summer project findings 
  • my summer research project findings
  • completion of prep for my fall research project
Leave a Reply

