my $0.02

You probably already know this, but in case you’re a boob like me, don’t ever try anything new for a grant.  That’s what I’ve been trying to do since September 1 to no avail.  I’m now trying to find easier ways to accomplish what I want, but I am not sure there is an easier way.  What I need is a collaborator to teach me how to do this technique.  I was confident that I could do it because I had dabbled in something similar during my postdoc, but what I am trying to do is more technically challenging than that.  I am sure if I apprenticed with a pro, I’d pick it up like that.  Alas, sorry not to have a more upbeat post after my 4 month hiatus, but it is what it is.

What about you?  How long has it taken you to be successful at a new technique in the lab?  Have you ever given up or turned it over to someone more knowledgeable?  Let us know about your experiences in the comments.

Leave a Reply

